Oregon Marijuana Laws 2021
Oregon: the first state to decriminalize drugs possession
Oregon’s war on drugs is not something new. In 1973 Oregon became the first state to decriminalize marijuana possession. In 2014, Oregon legalized recreational marijuana for people ages 21 and older, allowing adults over this age to purchase and possess up to eight ounces of “dried” marijuana and up to four plants.
Now, Oregon is in the spotlight again, as the first state to decriminalize the personal possession of drugs, with ballot Measure 110 that came into force on Feb. 1.
Mark Zuckerberg, Facebook co-founder, played a huge part in that. Through the Chan Zuckerberg Initiative, run by him and his wife, he made a $500,000 contribution in support of Measure 110. All he has to do now is to allow ganja businesses to promote themselves within his social platforms. Social media has a huge impact in promoting businesses, and they currently have a strict policy for cannabis business promotion.
From now on, people in possession of small amounts of some types of drugs can no longer be arrested. They now face a $100 fine or a health assessment that can lead to addiction counseling, the same that already happens with marijuana possession.
The shift in how the State deals with drug possession is a big win since the criminalization wasn’t effective. Besides that, punishing instead of treating addiction haunted marijuana users throughout their life. A criminal record makes it harder to find a job, buy a house and potentially creates a vicious circle of addiction.
Besides that, when we look at pro-cannabis policies we see some other benefits. One example of that is the increase of Oregon’s cannabis tax revenues if recreational marijuana becomes legal nationwide. That could make the demand for Oregon’s potent marijuana increase, opening the market for out-of-the-state consumers. Also, sales from marijuana would give back to the Drug Treatment and Recovery Services Fund which helps people with addiction.
Oregon marijuana laws 2021 do’s and don’ts
That doesn’t mean that drugs are all legal and that you can walk around with any amount. Here’s what you need to know:
→ If you are 21 or older you can possess, use, plant, share, give away or buy recreational marijuana. So, if you are younger than that it is still illegal.
→ Legal recreational consumers may buy seeds, cannabinoid products and marijuana from licensed dispensaries. Growing up to four marijuana plants per household is allowed.
→ It is only legal to buy recreational marijuana, in any form, from licensed retailers.
→ It is still illegal to use recreational marijuana in public.
→ There is a permitted limit that a user can buy for each type of marijuana-based product within one day, for example:
- 1-ounce usable marijuana (herb)
- 24 ounces of marijuana for caregivers and OMMP cardholders
- 10 marijuana seeds
→ If you want to give away marijuana-based products, there is also some important information to have in mind:
- The person who will receive the gift has to be 21 years or older
- The amount to be given has to be within the legal limit
- No financial exchange can be associated with the transfer
→ There is a different limit for public and private possession of usable marijuana (herb). Users can hold up to 8 ounces on private property, whereas in public the limit is 1 ounce. Other limits are the same, such as:
- 1-ounce cannabinoid extracts or concentrates
- 16 ounces cannabinoid product in solid form
- 72 ounces cannabinoid product in liquid form
→ If you are 21 or older, you can use recreational marijuana at home or on private property. However, you can’t use it in public places.
→ If you don’t own your house, you should check with your landlord if he allows you to use, grow or make goods containing marijuana on their property.
→ It is not allowed to consume marijuana at bars and restaurants. If the establishment has a liquor license, then marijuana consumption is prohibited.
→ Driving under the influence of marijuana remains illegal. Don’t smoke and drive! However, you may drive with marijuana in your vehicle within the legal possession limits if you are 21 or older.
→ It is prohibited to cross state lines taking marijuana, even when crossing to and from states where recreational marijuana is also legal. This is a federal offense.
→ You can fly within the state of Oregon carrying up to 1-ounce of marijuana, which is the legal amount of public possession. Smoking onboard is not allowed, the same applies to cigars.
Stay informed! Get breaking coverage on marijuana legalization news and weed culture.
Marijuana medicinal use
Marijuana is also allowed in the treatment of some medical conditions:
- A degenerative or pervasive neurological condition
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
Now you can smoke in peace
It is important that all stoners know what is and isn’t legal when we want to smoke weed in peace. If you live in Oregon then you can consider yourself a lucky stoner.
Now that you are well informed regarding Oregon’s marijuana laws, prepare your joint, call some friends and watch one of the best stoner movies on Netflix.
Featured Photo Source: Unsplash